Eating in, eating well and found money

 
 
 

Great things come from small kitchens

We have a kitchen in our apartment.  Experienced Travellers know that cooking for themselves results in “found money” to be left at cafe terraces throughout the city.  This sound economic approach is endorsed by merchants and restauranteurs across the Ile de France.

Like our neighbors here, we do our food shopping in the Rue Cler.  I will confide to you that this terrifies me.  I fumble for change and forget how to say “potato”.  Inevitably I touch a vegetable that is meant to be weighed only by Monsieur.  In spite of my fears, I consider it a point of honor to go out and shop each day.  

We’re eating in tonight, so we must compose our meal.

"How can anyone govern a nation that has two hundred and forty-six different kinds of cheese?" DeGaulle

The Cheese Ladies operate a fragrant shop filled with the most interesting choices.  Nurse chose an époisses, a soft, smelly cheese that will spread nicely on bread.  (Attention Bob G – do you know this cheese?)

The vegetable scouting unit

Of course, I sent Nurse into the produce shop.  If any unauthorized touching of goods takes place, it won’t be me getting scolded in fast French.  She did a super job and we left with three kinds of wild mushrooms, figs and a lemon.  Good work, Nurse!

This is how scallops really look. The French prize the pink part that we don't eat in the US. They will be dinner later this week.

After quick stops at the boulangerie and the fish shop, I ran into the Franprix for a few groceries and we headed home to cook. 

The chef models her chic new frames. (New lenses to come when we get home)

Taming the wild mushrooms

Let me clarify;  Nurse cooked. I handled the blog content creation and made encouraging sounds.

The result – a wonderful meal of pan-fried cod, wild mushrooms, potatos, sweet radishes, a baguette, fresh figs and ripe, smelly cheese. And remember the 2-euro wine from the lady in the grocery?  It’s just fine, and it’s 13% alcohol.

 By my reckoning, this dinner for two cost about 14 euros.  It would cost at least 40 euros to eat a light meal at a bistro.  That’s like finding 26 euros on the ground to spend on cafes or shopping!  Our Paris visit gets more affordable every day.

Better living through "found money"

12 Responses to “Eating in, eating well and found money”

  1. Patti Says:

    Just finished reading all of your blogs. Great job and very interesting. Cannot wait to see you when you get back and see all the pictures. The food blogs are just wonderful. Thanks!

    • Julie Says:

      Patti thanks for your comment! It’s nice to be able to create and complete something, unlike certain Blessed Events : )

  2. Bernie Says:

    Dear ETs,

    J’ai lu votre blog–et maintenant j’ai faim!

    By the by, it’s beautiful weather in Cleveland. I am preparing to take over an English class next Monday. Someone took ill weeks ago–and I get to step in.

    A bientot,
    B

  3. Tim Says:

    Looking fantabulous! ::sigh::

  4. Jane Says:

    I am fascinated by the picture of scallops. I love them, but had no idea what they looked like from the sea. Have you eaten the pink part? Wonder why we do not use that in the US?

    Did you see the news today about the apartment in the 9th arrondisement that was untouched for 70 yrs and contained a painting worth over $1M? Perhaps the apartment is for sale??

    • Julie Says:

      Jane you will have a first-hand report on “the pink part” this weekend. It’s on the menu. Oh the 9th arrondissement is lovely. I started rustling through things here in the rental just in case. I guess it pays to clean closets.

  5. Bob Says:

    Bien sur, epoisses is a favorite! You’ll see it again at the Beaujolais party. Bon appetit!

    • Julie Says:

      Bob thanks. Even I am getting a bit attached to the runny stuff and am glad it’s available at home. Looking forward to Beaujolais!

  6. Stephen Says:

    Not only the French prize the “pink part” of the scallop. The Brits do too and eat them with great enthusiasm 🙂

    • Julie Says:

      Stephen thanks for the clarification. I have my idol, Julia Child to thank for steering me toward the pink part of the scallop.

  7. Ann Mason Says:

    I ate the pink part of the scallop last time I was here and was amazed at the flavor, delicious, and I was so sorry I had pitched that part when we cooked them in the apartment. But they are on tonight’s eat in menu, so stay tued, film at eleven.

Leave a Reply

